Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Interior Lighting 101 help needed

Hi,
    I'm quite familiar with exterior lighting and I use it daily in my projects. I do models of ships and they are always exterior shots as I never have to get into the vessel to show accommodations, etc. because usually this is done by the interior design people.
    However, after years of using Rhino + Vray, believe it or not, it is the very first time that I need to do interior lighting in a project and I realize that I'm a total novice in this.
    I have a space with no windows or exterior light at all, so dome lights, HDRI, sun or directional lights cannot be used so I'm trying to set up some simple ceiling rectangular lights superimposed on a plane of the same size with a emissive material not as a light source but only to simulate the effect of the actual rectangular light because leaving the light visible I find it too bright. So far so good.
    The problem is that Rhino crashes every single time when I try to render, sometimes doesn't completely crashes but if I see it stalling ready to crash and I manage to stop the render, the engine is stalled anyway because i keep getting the "Please wait until the render finish" message and my only option is to restart Rhino. Not even re-loading the model in the same Rhino session works.
    Since I only need a general lighting with no accents (for those I will use IES lights) I was thinking in leaving the lights with no decay and a low intensity so that all together give a nice general lighting.
    In any case, Rhino crashes whether I turn on only one light or all, whether I have decay or no decay ...
    I have a powerful rig and lots of RAM so this is not an issue.
    I would appreciate it if someone can take a look at the barebones mockup of the space and lights and tell me what I'm doing wrong. I just need to illuminate the damn thing !
    Thanks

light-test1.zip
    Last edited by palosanto; 04-08-2015, 12:37 PM.