Online licensing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Online licensing

I'm considering transferring my dongle license to online. Will my computer need to be online whenever I start up VRay? I'm a contractor who works at home, and two or three times a year my internet will go dead for one reason or another, sometimes for most of a day. And on a couple occasions I had to set up shop in countries with sketchy internet connections. Are there safeguards against these situations?

Thanks.
    - Geoff

Yes, V-Ray license tied to a username(online based) needs stable internet connection all the time when V-Ray is used. There is an option to borrow your online based license for offline usage. More information regarding offline usage of the V-Ray license can be found on our documentation wen site below:
    https://docs.chaosgroup.com/display/...or+Offline+Use

Please note: When you borrow the license for offline usage on a definite machine, it will appear in V-ray license server status page "localhost:30304" as engaged and into the other machines where this license is used(if it used). That is why you will have to released it if you want the same license to be online based again and ready to be used on any machine which connected to internet.

Let me know if more assistance is needed.
    Stefan Isakov

Technical Support Representative
    support@chaosgroup.com

Contact Support

Chaos Group

Comment

Thanks. That borrowing feature should help a lot. Hmm, come to think of it, I've probably had at least as much trouble with my ancient dongle than I've had with internet access. So I guess I'll do it.
      - Geoff

Comment

After the license has been transferred, can the WIBU software be uninstalled, or does the online license use that?
        - Geoff

Comment

Originally posted by YoyoBoy View Post
          After the license has been transferred, can the WIBU software be uninstalled, or does the online license use that?