Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

(Fixed, Fixed) [HOU-1994, HOU-2145] Toon workflow in V-Ray for Houdini?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• (Fixed, Fixed) [HOU-1994, HOU-2145] Toon workflow in V-Ray for Houdini?

Hullo!

I'm trying to get the toon material to work in Houdini and having no luck. Applying the material itself does nothing. There's also the atmospheric effect, but I can't figure out how to use it--it has no outputs to go into the material, and whether I create it in the mat or out context there's apparently something you have to do to make it work.

I'm new to V-Ray. I also speak Maya, so I tried looking up how to apply the toon material in Maya, thinking it would translate, but all I could find involved pressing a button on the V-Ray shelf that does exist in Maya, but doesn't in Houdini.

Thanks for any help!

i was recently fiddling with this. you need to add/make a vray environment node in the OUT context - then add the toon atmospheric effect in there. Then add this node to the environment slot near the top of the vray render rollout. The lines then show up.
    In regards to the toon material - it only seems to work correctly with omni lights at the moment.

Comment

That did the trick, thanks!

Comment

Hello bentway23 , there are toon material and a toon effect. V-Ray Toon Material will make object to look as a cartoon, and the Toon effect will add outer and inner lines for objects. V-Ray Toon Material is just a shader and should be assigned to an geometry, in other hand toon effect is an environment effect and should be assigned through environment network which is set in Environment slot of the V-Ray ROP, that is why toon effect has no outputs. It really depends of what you are trying to achieve.

V-Ray ToonMaterial
        V-Ray ToonEffect
        Georgy Chakarov | QA
        www.chaosgroup.com
        georgy.chakarov@chaosgroup.com

Comment