Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What am I doing wrong? Vray Proxy rendering gray

Hi,

I am new to Vray proxies but think they could help a lot (rendering heavy car model).

I am having problems with getting proxies to render though.. Here's what I'm doing-

I select my car (via drag selecting all objects) and go to the Vray tab - Create Vray Proxy
    in the settings I chose a destination, I chose 'Export all selected in a single file', select 'Automatically create proxies', and leave everything else at default. It exports in a few minutes
    In my new scene I go to vray tab and select 'Import Vray Proxy' and chose the file. It comes in as super low res looking mesh, appears to have all materials in it and everything looks okay...
    Renders gray and super low res model :/

What am I missing?

When exporting vrmesh files you are actualy exporting just the selected geometry(this includes vertices and face topology, texture channels, face material IDs, smoothing groups, and normals) but not its materials. That is why when you import your vrmesh files you need to apply thier original materials.

For more information please refer to our online documantation:
    https://docs.chaosgroup.com/display/...+%7C+VRayProxy
    Nikolay Kusht | chaos.com
    Team Lead, 3D Support | contact us

Comment

In addition to what Niki said I would like add that if Automatically Create Proxy option is enabled, V-Ray will automatically import proxy and apply its orriginal material after proxy creation.
      Svetlozar Draganov | Senior Manager 3D Support | contact us
      Chaos & Enscape & Cylindo are now one!

Comment

Thank you both!