Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3Ds Max Vray material to Revit Vray material

Hello

I have been using Revit for about 3 years now and I am interested in purchasing Vray for revit.

I have some questions.

1. The new file extensions for a V-Ray Material for Revit is ".vrmat". Why did you choose this file format?

2. The file extension for V-Ray Material for 3Ds Max is ".mat" correct?

3. Is it possible to convert a 3Ds max material .mat to .vrmat to use inside Revit? If so how?

4. Where can I purchase or download FREE .vrmat materials?

Thanks

John
    Last edited by Mrrevit; 14-12-2016, 02:31 PM.

If you're starting out with materials in max that are not vray materials then I believe first you need to convert them which you can read about here :
    https://docs.chaosgroup.com/display/...Rmat+Converter

But to export to .vrmat there is an option to "export VRMAT from scene material" This then will create those materials in whatever directory you want which should be loadable into revit as .vrmats. I don't know what menu this is under so you can either search for is with 'x' or add it to a vray menu you can create within max.

I think the .mat format is 3ds max's core material format which can represent any material that you make within 3ds including materials for other render engines. .vrmat is a more specific file type which, in max, can only be exported from a material that is under the vray rollout in the material editor. It's Vray's proprietary format essentially. The reasoning for this would seem to be for users like yourself to exchange exact materials between 2 software you are using vray inside of rather than having to worry about revit, max, modo, and blender using the same material system since they're not all made by the same companies. (This is my understanding so if anyone has a better or more accurate explanation feel free to correct)