VRay holding super PC system hostage!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VRay holding super PC system hostage!

Hey all...I've been asking for help over at the Sketchup forums regarding an issue I've been having. I've finally tracked it down to VRay and was wondering if I could get input here.
    Fist, I'm a PC noob, SU noob and V-Ray noob - the tri-fecta! So please be patient. I'm pretty good with software and systems, just been on Mac's.

Here's the issue. As soon as I open V-Ray panel and apply a texture, the system starts slowing down dramatically. I had the issue with another model I was working on and tried all sorts of problem tracking. Decided to start a new model and sure enough, the minute I added a V-Ray material, it slowed the system down to a crawl - at periods. Basically, for who knows what reason, the system will hang (showing the blue ball thing) and, now with experience, I just have to wait it out about 5-8 minutes (get to play a lot of Backgammon on my iPad). It then releases the program and I can keep working. At some other indeterminate time (but usually inside of 20 minutes) the blue ball will show up again...another break (wish I smoked). And so it goes the rest of the time. Doesn't matter what I'm working on, just happens. Interestingly, the condition includes the Outliner going haywire by items disappearing in the window and things reappearing and moving around. Another associated condition is that the file also takes 5-10 minutes to save vs the usual 4 seconds (only 15k KB model).

I've already tried all the usual solutions (uninstall and reinstall as admin, delete ALL extensions, etc. etc. etc.). Still happens.

Again, this only happens when I start adding VRay textures. Before that it works beautifully and no issues. The minute I open that panel and start applying textures is a whole 'nother story.

I'm on V-Ray 3.60.02 Build 1241

Windows 10 Pro (latest update)

System:

Intel Core i9-7960X (16 core) - NOT Overclocked